Universities in Suriname

Anton de Kom University of Suriname

Paramaribo, Suriname
Anton de Kom University is an institution of higher education located in Suriname. It is the only university in the country, based in its capital – Paramaribo. The Anton de Kom University of Suriname has the following faculties: The Faculty of Medical Sciences; The Faculty of Social Sciences; and The Faculty of Technological Sciences, offering diverse courses likeSoil Sciences, Forestry, Mechanical Engineering, and others.

Universities in Suriname by City:


About universities in Suriname

Surinam, an erstwhile Dutch colony, gained independence in 1975. Higher education in Surinam, however, still follows the Dutch system, which is the binary higher education system. Higher education in Surinam comes under the purview of the Ministry of Education and Community Development.
Higher education was earlier delivered at the only university in Surinam. Today, however, there are five other institutions along with a number of research institutes in Surinam that deliver higher education. Earlier, the university in Surinam offered two types of programs, leading to either a doctorandus (drs) / meester (mr) or bachelor’s of science degrees. The programs were five years and four years long, respectively. The system of higher education in Surinam now has a two stage bachelor’s - master’s structure.
The university in Surinam offers various specializations under three faculties, namely Medical Sciences, Social Sciences and Engineering:
  • Faculty of Medical Sciences offers programs in medicine (doctorandus & master degree programs) and physiotherapy (bachelor’s of science program)
  • Faculty of Social Sciences offers a wide variety of bachelor’s and master’s degree programs in Surinam. The specializations include law, economics, business administration, public administration, agogic sciences & pedagogy, sociology and psychology
  • Faculty of Engineering offers a diverse set of programs, including Agricultural Production (Agriculture, Forestry, Animal Husbandry, Fishery & Aquaculture, Soil Science and Horticulture), Mineral Production (Geology and Mining), Electrical Engineering (Energy and Computer Technology), Infrastructure (Architecture, Civil Engineering and Land/Water Management), Mechanical Engineering and Environmental Science (Environmental and Nature Management, Aquatic Resources Management).
Bachelor’s Degree in Surinam

Students who successfully complete their studies for bachelor’s degree program in Surinam earn the Bachelor of Science degree. The university in Surinam has modified the framework of its programs to shorten their duration and align them with the modern two-stage structure.  The bachelor degree program in physiotherapy has been reduced from five to three years while the university in Surinam reduced the program lengths in the faculty of engineering, from four years to three years.
Candidates interested in higher education in Surinam are required to have obtained the voorbereidend wetenschappelijk onderwijs (VWO) or preparatory scientific education diploma. The VWO diploma gives direct access to bachelor degree programs at the university in Surinam. Holders of other diplomas, such as hoger algemeen voortgezet onderwijs (HAVO), NATIN, IMEO or AVF, are required to undertake a bridging program before they can start their bachelor’s degree program in Surinam.

Master’s Degree in Surinam

Master’s degree programs in Surinam can take two to four years depending on the faculty. Faculty of medicine science offers specialization in medicine through a four year doctorandus degree and seven year MD degree, while the faculty of social sciences offers two year long master’s degree programs in Surinam.
Certain research institutes have been setup to offer master’s degree programs in Surinam, along with monitoring the master’s degree programs that are offered at the university in Surinam. Currently, programs on offer are development and policy, international relations, macro-economic analysis and policy and public health

EU Business School
Bachelors, Masters, MBA's in Spain, Switzerland or Germany for English speaking international students.
CSA Study Abroad
Accredited study abroad programs all over the world for students of all levels.

Share this page: