Skip to content

Study and find schools in Zambia

Compare 5 schools in Zambia: universities, language schools, vocational schools and more.

Types of schools in Zambia

Cities to study in Zambia

Studying in Zambia

Zambia is a landlocked country in south-central Africa with Lusaka as its capital. English is the official language and the language of university teaching, alongside more than 70 local languages such as Bemba, Nyanja, Tonga and Lozi. Most of the population lives around Lusaka and in the Copperbelt Province, and this is also where most universities are.

For international students, Zambia offers English-taught degrees at public and private universities. The schools in our directory teach subjects such as law, education, business and management, and medicine. Some rules, such as the timing of the study permit and the fees at private universities, differ for students from other SADC (Southern African Development Community) countries.

The education system

Higher education combines public universities, such as the University of Zambia (UNZA) and Mulungushi University, with a growing number of private universities. Universities must be registered under the Higher Education Act No. 4 of 2013, and the Higher Education Authority (HEA) recognises institutions. Technical and vocational training is regulated by a separate body, the Technical Education, Vocational and Entrepreneurship Training Authority (TEVETA).

All qualifications sit on the Zambia Qualifications Framework (ZQF), managed by the Zambia Qualifications Authority (ZAQA). The framework has ten levels and three sub-frameworks: general education, trades and occupations, and higher education. Universities award certificates, diplomas, bachelor's degrees, master's degrees and doctorates; Mulungushi University, for example, describes itself as a multi-level university offering degree, diploma and certificate programmes.

The oldest university is UNZA in Lusaka. It was created by Act No. 66 of 1965, came into legal existence on 12 November 1965 and began its first academic session on 17 March 1966. Its programmes are organised in nine schools.

Admission and recognition

Each university sets its own entry rules. For a bachelor's degree, universities usually ask for credits in five subjects of the Zambian School Certificate or an equivalent such as the Cambridge International Examinations. At Mulungushi University, for example, most programmes require a credit (grade 6) or better in English and Mathematics plus credits in other subjects; science programmes add science subjects.

Language: at UNZA, all teaching and examinations are in English. Students who need to improve their English can take the university's English courses at three levels.

Recognition of foreign qualifications is handled by ZAQA, which evaluates how a foreign qualification compares with the Zambia Qualifications Framework. According to ZAQA, the evaluation of foreign qualifications takes about 60 working days, so start early if a university or employer asks for it.

Study permit

Foreign students need a Study Permit from the Zambia Department of Immigration to study full-time or part-time at a Zambian institution. The University of Lusaka (UNILUS) states that any student enrolled for six months or longer must have one, including exchange students. According to the Department of Immigration (checked October 2026), a new application needs:

  • A covering letter to the Director General of Immigration
  • A certified copy of your passport (bio-data page and last Zambian entry stamp)
  • A letter of acceptance from the educational institution
  • A medical report from a Zambian government medical facility
  • A letter from your sponsor (institution, parent, guardian or yourself), proof of the sponsor's status and the sponsor's financial status
  • The prescribed fee

Renewals need a letter from the school and your latest transcript or progress report. The universities give the first-time permit fee as about K9,000 (UNILUS: K9,000; Cavendish University Zambia: K9,090, with K12,120 for a renewal).

Timing depends on where you come from. UNILUS advises SADC students to apply once registered and in Zambia, and non-SADC students to get a visa in their home country before travelling and then apply for the permit in Zambia. International students have a 30-day grace period after arrival; missing it can lead to a penalty of K24,000 or deportation. Cavendish University Zambia notes that you cannot enter on a visitor's visa for full-time studies.

Costs

Fees are set by each university and published in kwacha or US dollars. Some public universities charge the same tuition to all students: Mulungushi University states that international students pay the same fees as Zambian students, and only the application fee differs (K150 for Zambian applicants, US$50 for international applicants). Private universities such as UNILUS publish separate fee schedules for non-SADC students. Exchange students at UNZA usually have their fees waived under the partner agreement and pay their home university instead.

Add the study permit fee, the medical examination and health insurance to your budget. UNILUS, for example, enrols all its students in a medical insurance scheme.

Where to study

  • Lusaka: the University of Zambia; Cavendish University Zambia, established in 2004 and the first private university in the country; and the University of Lusaka, which began in 2007 as an institute, was registered as a university in January 2008 and was officially opened on 18 October 2012. Texila American University is in Lilayi, on the edge of Lusaka.
  • Kabwe: Mulungushi University, a public university established on 1 January 2008, with its main campus 26 kilometres north of Kabwe and a medical school in Livingstone; it reports more than 13,000 active students

Practical life

A Study Permit does not allow paid work: its holder may not take up any business, employment or profession not specified in the permit. Medical examinations for the permit must be done at a public hospital in Zambia, not in your home country. Universities offer hostels or lists of vetted boarding houses near campus; Mulungushi University, for example, has furnished hostels.

Frequently asked questions

Is teaching in Zambia in English?

Yes. English is the official language, and at the University of Zambia all programmes are taught and examined in English.

Do I need a study permit to study in Zambia?

Yes. The Department of Immigration issues a Study Permit to foreign nationals studying full-time or part-time at a Zambian institution; the University of Lusaka says it is needed for any stay of six months or longer.

How much does a study permit cost?

Universities give the first-time fee as about K9,000; Cavendish University Zambia quotes K9,090 for a new permit and K12,120 for a renewal.

Can I work in Zambia on a study permit?

No. The holder of a Study Permit may not take up employment or business that is not specified in the permit.

Who recognises my foreign qualifications?

The Zambia Qualifications Authority (ZAQA) evaluates foreign qualifications against the Zambia Qualifications Framework. This takes about 60 working days.