ePrivacy and GPDR Cookie Consent by Cookie Consent

Universities in Serbia

Universities in Serbia by City:

Novi Sad

About universities in Serbia

Serbia and Montenegro was a country in the southeastern part of Europe that formed from two former republics of the Socialist Federal Republic of Yugoslavia.  Following the breakup of Yugoslavia in 1992, the two republics merged to form the Federal Republic of Yugoslavia, a region that became known as Serbia and Montenegro after the two countries decided to form a political union in 2003.  This lasted for approximately three years, until 2006, when the countries went their separate ways, each agreeing to independence in June of that year.
Although the two countries are no longer one, their higher education systems remain very similar, although the system in Montenegro, being that it’s a much smaller country, only consists of a handful of institutions.
Higher Education in Serbia and Montenegro
The system of higher education in Serbia is overseen by the National Ministry of Education and Sport, and consists of university education—carried out at institutions called faculties and art academies—and non-university education, where courses of study are no less than two years and no more than three years in duration.  The faculties in Serbia primarily offer studies in major academic fields, leading to both undergraduate degrees (basic studies and specialized studies) and graduate-level degrees (Magisterial, or Master-level Degrees and Doctorate-level degrees).  Programs in basic studies typically last between four to six academic years, while those leading to specialized degrees usually take an additional 1-2 years to complete.  At the graduate level, the magisterial programs typically span 2 years, with doctorate-level degrees typically taking 3 additional years to complete.  While instruction is the main function of Serbian faculties, theoretical and applied research is a prominent component in the doctorate-level programs.
Non-university higher education in Serbia is conducted at post-secondary higher schools.  These institutions offer vocationally-based programs leading to diplomas in technical subjects, paramedical sciences and many other career-related fields.  Those who complete these 2-3 year programs are given a professional title, such as senior medical technician, transport engineer, senior physiotherapist, etc.
The higher education system in Montenegro is overseen by the Ministry of Science, and includes one major public university that comprises 15 faculties, 48 programs of study and 4 research institutes.  In 2004, the first private university was opened in Montenegro, and since that time two more have been added.  Academic programs in most major disciplines are offered at both the public and private level.  In October, 2003, in accordance with the Bologna Declaration, the university and private institutions in Montenegro adopted the standardized credit and 3-stage degree system now in place in most countries throughout Europe.  Under this program, which aims to facilitate student transfer between European universities, programs of study can lead to first, second and third-level degrees, also called Bachelor, Master’s and PhD degrees.
Teacher education is also offered in Serbia at various faculties dedicated to these types of studies.  Participants at these faculties can choose between programs leading to pre-school, primary school or secondary school teaching positions.  Instructors for higher education are generally recruited from the doctorate-level programs at academic faculties.